>Diet Club is in session

>Last night saw the first meeting of “Diet Club” at my house. My mum and I dutifully weighed in and recorded it on the weighing in sheets I knocked up on the computer, measured ourselves and took “before” photos in order to have something to measure our success against.


We are using the Rosemary Conley “Magic Measure” measuring tapes to record our inch loss. Which includes static markers to record your starting measurement which are colour coded according to which part of your body you are measuring at the time (bust, waist, hips etc). Next week we will measure again and using the movable markers we can then record how much we lose inch wise each week. They seem a good idea and only cost £3.99 so considering we’re saving £4.50 each week (plus the joining fee) by following the Slimming World diet at home rather than at a group, they seem quite a good investment. I’ve always measured myself when attempting to lose weight because if you stay the same on the scales, you often find you’ve lost inches instead so it alleviates the disappointment.

I cooked a Slimming World friendly spaghetti bolognaise for us all, which E also likes and plan to cook a different Slimming World meal every week. The recipe is as follows:

Fry Light, for spraying
2 onions, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
340 g/12 oz extra lean minced beef
227 g/8 oz button mushrooms, thinly sliced
1 red pepper, diced
1 397 g/14 oz can chopped tomatoes
1 oxo cube plus water (amount to your liking)
1 level tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 tbsp dried mixed herbs
Bacon with the fat removed (use as much or as little as you would like – I used 4 rashers)
1 tbsp tomato puree
Pasta or spaghetti of your choice

1. Spray a pan with fry light and cook the onions until soft.
2. Add the peppers and cook for a further 2 minutes.
3. Add the garlic and cook for a further minute.
4. Add the bacon and cook until starting to crisp.
5. Add the mushrooms and cook until they start to brown.
6. Add the mince and cook until browned.
7. Sprinkle over the oxo cube, tomato puree and herbs and stir
8. Add the tin of tomatoes and stir again. Add some water to increase the volume of sauce.
9. Add the Worcestershire sauce and season to taste.
10. Bring to the boil then reduce the heat and simmer for 15 minutes.
11. In a pan, cook the spaghetti or pasta of your choice.
12. Enjoy!

This recipe is Syn Free on Extra Easy and is really tasty. It served my mum, E and I and I had enough left over for lunch today, plus an extra portion to freeze for another day. Tomato puree is 1/2 a syn per tbsp, so by the time you divided that up between 4 the syns are reduced to 0. You could add 250ml of red wine for an extra 8 1/2 syns per recipe if you fancied livening it up a bit and if you fancy cheese sprinkled on top a tablespoon of Parmesan is 1 1/2 syns.

I have been informed I am soon to welcome a new member into the diet club, my aunt wants to join too, so I’ll have an extra 2 people for dinner on a Monday night, which should keep me occupied!

I have been good so far on the diet, although we are off to Pizza Hut for E’s birthday this evening so it will be hard to eat a Slimming World friendly meal while there, but to be honest E’s birthday comes but once a year so if I fancy a slice of pizza I’ll have it!

6 responses to “>Diet Club is in session

  1. >Thst sounds nice – I think I will make it this week. Where did you get the Rosemary Conley thing from? I quite fancy one of those x

  2. >You've made me feel hungry again, loved the recipe. Keep going on the weighing, I haven't weighed myself for years, too frightened to see the results!!CJ xx

  3. >Had an accident involving me swallowing a kfc zinger tower burger and chips last night – oops! Am hoping the exercise will compensate for it though! The link to "Magic Measure" in the Rosemary Conley shop is http://www.rosemaryconley.com/shop/magic-measure.htm seems quite a handy way to keep track of the inch loss but will find out just how good it is when I measure again on Monday. x

  4. Pingback: Favourite Family Meals «

  5. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday |

  6. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday – on Tuesday |

Leave a Reply

