>CyberMummy – the rise of the Mummy Bloggers

>
On Saturday 3rd of July the phenomenon known as CyberMummy came to the Ibis Earls Court in London. And thanks to winning a ticket from Ready for Ten I was lucky enough to be at this groundbreaking event for UK Mummy Bloggers. (and Tim!) With speakers from the world of blogging, PR and publishing, it was set to be a fantastic day.

My day started at 6am, I’m not quite sure why, because I live just outside London and certainly didn’t need to be up so early, but a nervous excitement about the day ahead made it impossible to get back to sleep. I’d arranged to meet Hayley from SingleMummy.net at Victoria before heading to the tube station and in true “blind date” style we were texting each other what we were wearing while on our trains heading to Victoria. Of course I knew what Hayley looked like having read her blog for the last 6 months, but me being the shy girl that I am I have chosen to blog anonymously so she didn’t have a clue what I looked like until I emailed a photo of myself to her a few days before. Apparently I look exactly how she imagined me to look, not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing! We greeted each other like old friends and any nerves evaporated the minute I met her and the lovely Emma from Say it with Chocolate, who it turns out I’ve met briefly at Wedding Fairs in my local area before, and we headed off on the tube to CyberMummy together.

The sessions were all fantastic, you can see a full list of the live blogs here should you not have been able to read them as yet. I got an awful lot out of them and will definitely be putting what I have learned into practice, as well as checking out the sessions that I didn’t sit in on.

Next up was the Crowdsourced Keynote, a full list of them can be found here. The writers of blog posts got to stand up on stage and read their posts to us how they were meant to be heard. Some of them were funny, some of them heartfelt and quite a few of them had me welling up before tears were rolling down my cheeks, the whole room was crying at one point! It was a fantastic way to end the conference and I wish there had been time to hear posts from even more fantastic bloggers.

After the “official” part of the day was over, there was time for some fun with a pub style quiz and the prize draw. I was lucky enough to win a Bounce & Spin Zebra courtesy of Mattel, which although a bit too young for my daughter, is right up my nieces street and something she was a bit too young for at Christmas, but will make a fantastic birthday present for her in September!

Leaving around seven laden with bag upon bag of goodies, Hayley and I headed back to the tube station, her hobbling along in her new shoes – so glad I went for a comfy pair! I had such a fantastic day, CyberMummy was so much more than I had imagined it to be and it’s organisers clearly worked their socks off pulling together an event on such a grand scale that was both informative and fun. I finally got to match the faces to the blogs and meet some wonderful women who have inspired me with their writing and their kindness since I started blogging 6 months ago. Meeting Hayley was definitely a highlight of the day. She was one of the first people to follow my blog ad has been a constant source of support and friendship ever since, both blogwise and otherwise so it was great to finally meet her.

Roll on CyberMummy 2011, I’ll see you there!

Leave a Reply

