>Remembering 9/11

>The 11th of September 2001 was like any other day, I was at work hunting down people who’d decided not to pay their loans from the bank I worked for. Then something happened that changed the world forever, we didn’t quite know what it was at first, a few people had received calls or texts saying something about a plane crash in America but as we began to realise it wasn’t just a plane crash, the internet seemed to crash on us and mobile networks were struggling to cope with the volume of calls. Eventually the news started coming in, little by little and what we heard was horrifying.

I remember leaving work and my mum coming to pick me up, sitting in her car in disbelief at what I was hearing on the radio. Just listening to the voices of the radio presenters and news readers was chilling, they were just as horrified as everyone else and I soon realised why when I arrived home and turned on the tv. It was like watching some kind of disaster movie, the scenes unfolding before my eyes weren’t real, they couldn’t be, how I wish that was true and it was all just a nightmare and we could all wake up and its been just that, a bad dream. I sat there tears rolling down my face, not wanting to see what I was witnessing on tv, yet I couldn’t tear my eyes from the screen. All the while my bump kicking away made me question what kind of a world I was bringing her into, things like that just didn’t happen and it scared the life out of me.

I don’t know anyone who lost a loved one on 9/11 and I can’t even begin to imagine how having someone so cruelly taken from you must feel. I admire the men and women who risked their lives to help save people from those burning buildings and worked tirelessly after it was clear no one else was going to be coming out. Having seen my friends and colleagues getting loaded into vans on 7/7, the day of the London bombings, to police the area and help with the rescue operation I felt utterly sick, we didn’t know if any more bombs would go off, we didn’t know if they would come back alive and if they did what they would see and I cried as I had to stand there and watch them get in those vans without a thought for their own safety on that terrible day and it is something I don’t ever want to have to go through again.

It angers me that there has been so much controversy surrounding today this week, you all know what I’m talking about so no need to go into detail, and I find it so disrespectful to the people who were involved in such a horrifying event. Today should be for remembering and not tainted with anything else.

One response to “>Remembering 9/11

  1. >Wonderful post hunni. God only knows what I would be like if such a big event happened whilst I was pregnant. It would've killed me. This world is scary enough let alone when significant events such as those happen.

Leave a Reply

