The Golden Prince

 

I was sent this book to review before Christmas and finally managed to read it recently once I got our visitors out of the way. It’s a fantastic book and I’m only sorry I didn’t get to read it sooner.

As you know I’m a history geek, however I usually find myself buried in books about the Tudor period, yet this book is about King Edward VIII. It’s something I would not have even thought to read had I not been sent the book to review but I’m so glad that I did. It really is a wonderful read and I have vowed to get hold of Rebecca Dean’s other books to read in future.

The story centres on King Edward as a Prince. We all know that he abdicated the throne in order that he could be with Mrs Simpson, the woman he loved, but what we don’t know is of his lesser known relationship  he had as a teenager with a young lady called Lily Houghton.

To many it seems that Prince Edward has the perfect life, next in line to the throne, riches that others can’t even begin to imagine, but what they don’t know is how unbelievably unhappy it all makes him. His mother doesn’t seem to have had a maternal bone in her body, his father was an incredibly harsh disciplinarian and he absolutely hated the pomp and ceremony that came with his position. So when he meets the Houghton sisters he escapes into their world, enjoying relative freedom from his duties and somewhere he can just be himself “David”rather than Prince Edward and soon he finds himself falling in love with Lily. Stunningly beautiful and so gentle and kind he simply cannot resist her, or her him and they embark on a relationship which could have changed the course of history.

I’m not going to ruin the ending for you, but the book had me gripped until the end. There are other stories woven in to the main story surrounding the romance between Edward and Lily, which create an additional interest in the book and you find yourself wanting to know more about each character, what happens to them and I found myself willing them on in a way, wanting things to turn out well for them.

I will admit this book made me cry, but it also made me smile. It’s utterly captivating and you should put it on your must read list right now!

Please note that this is a sponsored post for which I received a copy of the above mentioned book to review. To view my disclosure policy, please click on the Disclosure tab above.

Leave a Reply

