Mr Lister’s Q&A

I’ve been tagged by Emma over at Mummy….Mummy…Mum!! in a meme that seems to be doing the round in the blogosphere of late.  Emma said she’d tagged some blogs she’d only just found and hoped we didn’t think she was weird, of course not Emma and thanks for the tag!

So here goes!

Which living person do you most admire, and why?

My mum, she brought my sister and I up on her own after my dad left her, worked three jobs to keep a roof over our heads, looked after her husband when he had cancer and did the same for his father and her aunt a year later before they died. Broke both her ankles and still looked after my daughter when she was just 3 months old and I had to go back to work and now takes care of my elderly nan and grandad and anyone else who needs looking after – she is quite frankly superwoman!

When were you happiest?

Of course I was happy when my beautiful daughter was born, that goes without saying. But more recently I was the happiest I’ve been in a long time when I lived in Spain, it was a beautiful area and I fell in love with the scenery which always made me smile when I looked around and thought how lucky I was to live there and when I was with my new found friends, one of whom has become one of my best friends and I miss her loads. I think a day that sticks in my mind was before I left Spain on a blisteringly hot day in February when my friend and I sat chatting by the pool as our kids donned their swimming costumes and had fun splashing about in the pool. Simple pleasures.

What was your most embarrassing moment?

It’s got to be having an “accident” at Brownies while everyone else was standing there in our brownie sixes – I think even at the age of 7 I almost died of embarrassment.

Aside from property, what’s the most expensive thing you’ve bought?

My old car, it was £8,500 and I bought it not long after having my daughter. I hadn’t even taken my test yet or started driving lessons, but it was the incentive I needed and I passed both my theory test and driving test within four months of buying the car. Unfortunately the car turned into a bit of a liability and it’s warranty period saw it in and out of the garage for a longer amount of time than I had it with me!

What is your most treasured possession?

A bracelet made from my great great grandfathers watch chain that my grandad had made for me when I was a baby, along with my photos and keepsakes from my daughters last 9 years.

Where would you like to live?

No surprise here, I would love to move back to Spain again, if not then the New Forest or the Cotswolds in the UK, which are both simply stunning.

What’s your favourite smell?

Baby lotion and parma violets

Who would play you in the film of your life?

Kate Winslet, she’s a curvy english girl, although to play me now she’d need to eat a lot of donuts!

What is your favourite book?

The Constant Princess by Phillipa Gregory

What is your most unappealing habit?

Squeezing spots

What is your earliest memory?

Charles & Diana’s wedding, although I was only a few weeks old when it was on tv so my mums adamant I must remember it from reruns when I was a bit older.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Trashy magazines and a huge bar of chocolate

What do you owe your parents?

My mum, I owe everything to.

To whom would you most like to say sorry, and why?

Erm, don’t think I need to apologise to anyone at the moment.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

My beautiful daughter and my gorgeous man

What does love feel like?

It just feels right

What was the best kiss of your life?

After having a huge crush on a colleague for ages, we were on a night out with colleagues and he followed me upstairs in the bar and waited in the hallway for me. As I walked out of the door he gave me a look, pulled me towards him and just kissed me. It felt like I’d been waiting for the kiss for a very long time and it was amazing! Of course there have been a few with my partner too, the first time he kissed me after we got back together after about a decade was one to remember!

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

“Basically”, “Actually” and “But, still”

What is the worst job you’ve done?

Washing old ladies hair on a Saturday

If you could change one thing from your past, what would you change?

Nothing. I’ve made some mistakes along the way, but if I changed anything I’d done I wouldn’t be me.

What is the closest you’ve come to death?

Don’t think I’ve come anywhere near it thankfully!

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

My beautiful daughter

When did you last cry, and why?

In the last few weeks because I’m feeling lonely, bored and unsure of my new life in Malta.

How do you relax?

Trashy mags and chocolate again!

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?

Not being so lonely and bored!

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Making mistakes it part of life and make you who you are

So that’s me done, if anyone else hasn’t done this one yet, consider yourself tagged!

One response to “Mr Lister’s Q&A

  1. Hmmm I haven’t done it yet, maybe I will!

Leave a Reply

