11 weeks 6 days

Think the title pretty much gives away how far gone I am, but for those of you who didn’t see my post yesterday, I have a bun in the oven so to speak. Due on the 10th of December apparently, although I think it will be nearer Christmas, not that that’s a good thing!

I’ve been putting off posting about it. I’m not entirely sure why, but I think it’s a combination of worry due to previous miscarriages, not quite believing I am pregnant despite two positive pregnancy tests and the fact that my daughter’s away for another few weeks and I want to tell her before I tell any of my other family members and friends. Needless to say my blog has the exclusive story on this one!

I’ve known for sure that I’m pregnant for about 3 weeks after talking a pregnancy test, although that was following 3 weeks of such severe morning sickness that I couldn’t leave the house, let alone get a pregnancy test,  so I kind of guessed a few days into being attached to the toilet for the majority of the day (and night) that I may have been pregnant. Luckily it seems that my sickness has cleared up now, it stopped just as quickly as it started. I still get the odd bit of nausea, but that can usually be cured by eating strangely enough!

It seems that morning sickness has cured me of my diet coke addiction, all I could drink when I was ill was water (not that it stayed down for longer than about 30 seconds) and all I could eat was toast, which seems to cure any nausea I have now actually, although that’s probably caused by not eating often enough. Now I appear to be addicted to peach iced tea, which luckily for me has no caffeine in it (I’ve found some really cheap no sugar packet mixes which taste just as nice as the ready made stuff) so I can drink it all day long! Thankfully my appetite seems to have returned and I can usually cook without gagging, which is always a plus point.

I’ve been convinced I could feel the first flutters of the baby moving for just over a week, on one side of my stomach. So it was rather a coincidence when I went for a scan at the local hospital (booked myself in privately so I didn’t have to wait for a scan) that the baby is on the same side of my stomach I can feel these flutterings and is doing rather a good impression of an olympic gymnast! He or she has very long arms and legs (like his or her father!) and seems to enjoy doing backflips and somersaults! It was wonderful to see this little person who’d been making me feel so unbelievably ill, suddenly it all seemed worth it and I can’t wait to see him/her again in 3 weeks when I go back for my next scan. Although this time hopefully they’ll give me some photos!

It’s been a long time since I last had a baby, I was pregnant this time 10 years ago with my daughter, so I have a lot to remember/catch up on. Everything seems to have changed from what you can eat in pregnancy (still don’t really know as it seems to change on a monthly basis) to not being able to make up bottles and put them in the fridge anymore, let alone all these new inventions like self warming bottles and space age looking prams. I really don’t know where to start, so feel free to tell me what the hell I need to do during pregnancy and once the baby is born!

I also need to change the title of my blog, it just doesn’t seem to fit any more, so any suggestions would be much appreciated!

17 responses to “11 weeks 6 days

  1. Fantastic news, mine are 7 years apart from each other, and wow the difference with each pregnancy, but the best difference was my confidence with my second , but more so with my 3rd, very different to the 17 year old girl i was with my first. Glad the morning sickness has cleared x

  2. Hello! I’ve just come across your blog, and wanted to congratulate you on the exciting news! I’m 32+ weeks pregnant myself with my first baby and I’m luckily over the nausea period!! I’m from Malta myself but live in England at the moment. Good luck with everything xxx

  3. Congratulations! I am 16 weeks pregnant with my first. I had awful morning sickness for two weeks but feel much better with it now. Good Luck 🙂

  4. Congratulations! Hoping you have a healthy and eventless pregnancy.

  5. OMG you crazy girl! That’s amazing news! Congrats to you all xxx

  6. Came across your blog nd wanted to congratulate you with your pregnancy. I have a 5- weeks old baby daughter and I had my son 15 years ago! So, yes, she is like my first baby- everything is new, because I forgot everything!

    • Thanks for stopping by! Congratulations on your daughter, can’t even begin to imagine how I go from 3 months to a 5 week old at the moment, let alone what on earth to do with the baby once he or she arrives, it will certainly take a bit of getting used to – again!

  7. Huge congratulations. Hope you continue feeling ok. So far I am finding a second child less stressful than the first. You dont seem to sweat the small stuff second time around. Also highly recommend hypnobirth (Tums 2 Mums was fantastic)

    • Thanks! I jinxed myself – morning sickness has returned! Fingers crossed I’ll be calm like you once the little one arrives, I was so chilled out the first time around, but maybe that has something to do with me being 19! 10 years later and I’m not so calm! I just looked at the site, seems like a great idea, I may have to try it – could’ve done with the morning sickness one actually!

  8. Pingback: Blogging Best Bits 2011 |

Leave a Reply

