My boobs are facing redundancy

It appears the baby has decided that my breastmilk is surplus to requirements.

He’s gradually started to have more bottles over the last few weeks due to being out or my being desperate to get off the sofa and exercise or actually do the ironing/cleaning (the ironing pile was taller than my 10 year old daughter at one point!) but he always went back to breastfeeding without issue.

However over the last week he has refused to take any breastmilk at all, simply pulling away from my breast and not feeding until he has a bottle instead. There has only been one occasion in the last five days that he has fed from me and that was probably because he was exhausted and didn’t realise what he was doing anyway. It’s funny as he hated the taste of forumla milk when we first introduced him to a bottle, making faces at it, before guzzling it down and much preferred my milk. But it seems he knows exactly what he wants and no amount of coaxing will get him to take milk from me.

I’m not going to get upset about it, I’m rather happy that he has made the transition from breast to bottle on his own and when it suited him rather than me. If he wants breastmilk, he can have it and I do still offer it at every feed and will continue to do so for as long as I’m still producing milk. I will of course miss feeding him myself, it has been an absolute joy and so easy compared to my attempt at feeding my daughter all those years ago, but as with my entire approach to parenting this time around I’m very much leaving things down to the little one and how he wants to do things and if he decides that my boobs are to be given a P45 then so be it!

10 responses to “My boobs are facing redundancy

  1. Pingback: Love All Blogs » the altruistic blogging network and showcasing site that welcomes all bloggers » My boobs are facing redundancy

  2. super post – I also felt sad when I stopped
    x

  3. Liked your post, but wanted to say that it might be a breastfeeding strike which is quite common at that age. I don’t have any personal experience of it, but if you google breast feeding strike I’m sure you’ll come up with more information. If you’d like to continue, it might be worth continuing to offer the boobs.

  4. Aww! I’m glad it’s not upset you!! I cant imagine doing all this, hoping my plans to be able to breastfeed all go to plan. I do like your plan of leaving things down to him! This is what I did with Oli and I hope to be able to do it again this time around :))

    • Honestly it was so easy this time around, he latched on instantly and didn’t have any problems at all with latch, supply etc. It was perfect and an absolute joy compared to what happened when I had my daughter. I know you’re getting stressed in the lead up to the birth, I spent most of my pregnancy stressing over one thing or another but when I relaxed and realised I couldn’t control it and just had to go with the flow it couldn’t have been better. He is so content, has slept for at least 8 hours a night since he was a few days old so I’ve not felt exhausted except for the first few days post birth and not one sign of the PND that plagued me last time either, which considering I’m miles away from family and friends and am alone most of the day is pretty damn good really. Maybe it’s because I’m older this time, I dunno but I’m loving it! You will too and Oli will love being a big brother x

  5. It’s the end of an era, for sure. I always wish they would tell you when they’re having what will be their last feed (‘Hey, Mummy, this is the last time I’m doing this) so you could properly enjoy it, but alas…

  6. I love your attitude that it has been his decision. My daughter did the same at 7 months, just decided enough was enough. My son however had to go on to bottles due to allergies and I still feel guilty about it now.Hopefully you can get your ironing done now- the joys!
    XxX
    ps found you via BYOBH

    • Thanks for stopping by. That’s been my attitude for pretty much everything since having him, he does what he pleases and I, for the most part, don’t stress out about what he should or shouldn’t be doing. Far easier and a much better experience than when I had my daughter. Ironing? What’s that!?!

  7. Such a lovely post! I feel exactly the same about parenting this time around and it puts so much less pressure on than the first time! Breastfeeding is a wonderful experience, but nice that you don’t have to sack the boy and it’s the other way around! I am moving in that direction myself. (ps – found you via Mummy’s Little Monkey’s Toot your own Blog horn linky)

Leave a Reply

