Weaning

Looking back over old photos my daughter was 15 weeks old when she had her first taste of baby rice. Baby boy is 16 weeks on Sunday and although he looks like he could quite happily launch himself at my plate every time I eat my dinner he doesn’t seem like he “needs” food. My daughter was constantly hungry, woke every two hours (with or without food come to think of it) and by the time she was about 3 months old I was crushing up rusks and putting them in her bottle to fill her up a bit, but although the little one is interested in food and guzzles his bottles he seems quite content for now and has even started going to bed earlier recently rather than waking up more because he’s hungry.

As with everything this time around I’m pretty much letting him dictate what he wants and when so I’ll try him on a bit of baby rice when he hits 17 weeks (when a baby’s stomach can digest solids apparently) and see if he fancies it, if not we’ll just wait and see when he does and take it from there. He’s had a spoon for a few weeks to play with/chew on and can bring it to his mouth quite easily so no doubt he’ll enjoy coating himself in baby food when I eventually let him take charge of the spoon at dinner time!

I bought him a bowl and spoon on a recent trip to the supermarket, a bargain at only £1 each. I also bought some ice cube trays 4 for £2 so I can make him some baby food rather than buying expensive jars that he probably won’t even be able to finish. I plan on making his food, until the novelty wears off like it did with my daughter at least. It will help us save money as he can eat what we do, just a slightly plainer version and in the first few weeks of weaning he can have fruit and veg that we will already be eating, as well as a bit of baby rice or porridge for his breakfast.

In preparation for his foray into the world of solid food, I’ve made him some carrot and potato baby food. It’s best to start off with something simple and as carrot is a sweet vegetable I thought it would add a little interest to the more bland flavour of the potato. It’s so simple to do so it’s hardly a recipe but here it is should you fancy making it yourself:

Ingredients

  • 2 small potatoes
  • 3 carrots
  • a little formula milk if required ( I didn’t need to use any)

Directions

Boil or steam the carrots and potatoes until soft. Blitz with a hand blender adding milk if necessary until you have a smooth consistency. Freeze in ice cube trays.

This made two ice cube trays worth, each with ten cubes of baby food in it. It costs 40p for a kilogram of carrots and £1 for the same amount of potatoes, the amount I used would come to a total of about 20p and considering it will last him for 20 meals (well unless he’s particularly hungry and has more than one cube at a time) it’s unbelievable value for money as a tiny tin of baby food is at least 49p! Needless to say I’ll definitely be making my own baby food again – next up is apple and pear!

4 responses to “Weaning

    • Thanks for the link, will see what he prefers when he decides to start eating solids. I like the idea that they won’t feed themselves if they aren’t ready to do so as I always just assumed they’d choke if they were given bits of food to pick up and put in their mouths themselves. He seems quite coordinated so maybe it won’t be long before he starts feeding himself a bit of whatever he fancies – or stealing it off my plate if I’m not careful!

  1. Yes them stealing your steak is a bit of a downfall. Good luck with your weaning journey :O)

  2. I’m a fan of BLW as well. My son sounds like your daughter – wanting milk every 2 hours (luckily he was FF so less trauma than if he’d been willing to BF) in the day. We started at 5 months as he was grabbing stuff off my plate, sitting up well and playing with his spoons. He instantly knew what to do and hasn’t looked back – he’s been a lot easier to feed than all of his NCT friends, all were either puree, or then a mix. Definitely recommend it, especially if yours is happy with a spoon. Then he can just dictate when he’s ready too.

Leave a Reply

