An Autumn Crush

By the time you read this I’ll be on my way to the airport, so instead of leaving my blog for a week I thought I’d try to finally get round to putting reviews up of some books I received when pregnant and since having the little one.

First up is An Autumn Crush by Milly Johnson. I actually started reading this book while I was in labour on Christmas Eve and had finished it by the time I left hospital on the 27th. The midwives found it hysterical that I was so into my book that when I arrived at the hospital in the early hours of Christmas Morning at 8cm dialated I was still keen to keep reading my book to pass the time in the delivery room. After my gorgeous baby was born I carried on reading the book to kill time while my partner was back at home looking after our daughter and I was without any other visitors to keep me entertained what with living so far away from them.

The book focuses on Juliet, a headstrong divorcee who advertises for a flat mate, after a few unsuitable candidates Floz comes along who herself has been through the mill relationship wise. They get on like a house on fire and when Juliet’s twin brother Guy meets Floz he develops a crush on her that turns him into a gibbering wreck. Every time he so much as opens his mouth around her he manages to put his foot straight into it and leads Floz to believe that not only is he rude but that he can’t stand her. It couldn’t be further than the truth of course and he sets about trying to win her heart. Guy of course has a best mate in the form of Steve, a wrestling fanatic who has adored Juliet from afar for as long as he can remember, not that Juliet has ever thought of him in that way, infact she can’t stand him. They do however end up becoming “friends with benefits” until Juliet makes a series of discoveries that turn all their lives upside down. Can their friendships survive and do Guy & Steve get the girl? You’ll have to read it to find out!

I loved this book, if I couldn’t put it down while contracting away without any pain relief it must have been a bloody good read to say the least! It was easy to read, had a great story line and I couldn’t resist reading more. The book made you care about each of the characters and really want to know how things turned out for them. I would definitely recommend it to anyone – contracting or otherwise!

Please note I was provided with a copy of this book for the purpose of this review. For further information on my disclosure policy, please click on the Disclosure tab above.

2 responses to “An Autumn Crush

  1. If you can enjoy it through contractions it must have been good, lol. I love to read and get so little time to do so now, or shall I say no time to read books for my age, lol. I’m now reading for my son.

    • Sounds like me, the one time I’ve read a book since the little one was born is in the car on the way to and from visiting relatives on our recent holiday – will have to wait for another holiday until I get to finish the other half of it no doubt!

Leave a Reply

