Follow Friday

I started doing a follow friday post ages ago, where I featured a blog I’d either followed for ages or recently discovered and a bit about why I loved it. I thought it was about time I resurrected it and first to feature is www.slimmingeats.com.

I discovered this blog through a slimming forum I belong to a few months back and set about recreating a few of the recipes on there. It’s written by an expat mum in Canada who is quite literally cooking herself slim. I’m back on the diet wagon yet again this week and have already worked some of the delicious recipes into my meal plan for the week.

The latest recipes that have caught my eye are Baked Arancini a dish of stuffed baked rice balls that were very popular in Malta, yet I never got round to trying them. These will be going on the list for next weeks meal plan. Strawberry Shortbread Frozen Yogurt sounds amazing and I’ll definitely have to try it. I’m forever denying myself treats when I’m on a diet then of course end up stuffing my face with them when I feel deprived. I’ll also have an excuse to buy some strawberries as now the baby is starting to eat finger foods I’m sure he would love to suck on a strawberry!

Despite going to America and seeing this on every breakfast buffet cart and menu I’ve never tried Pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, so this diet friendly version may well have to rectify that!

One of my favourite recipes for lunch is the Bacon and Cheese Tortilla Espanola, it’s easy, filling and went down well with the man and the fussy 10 year old! Another one that had us all reaching for seconds was Fajita Pork Pasta – simply delicious and full of flavour!

This stuff is famous among Slimming Worlders, yet I still haven’t tried it! It’s definitely time for me to try Diet Coke Chicken

Perfect for a hot summers day is Iced Tea, I made my version with normal tea bags (didn’t have any posh fruity stuff in) and sugar free peach squash and it was delicious!

Mini Oreo Baked Cheesecakes are simply begging to be made, infact I may well have to nip out and get some Oreo’s so I can make these tomorrow!

I love Mediterranean flavours and I love cake, so what better way to combine the two than with this recipe for Orange and Almond Cake. My only problem will be not eating the entire cake on my own!

There are loads more delicious recipes on the blog, some of which I’ve tried and some of which I’m yet to try. I’m thrilled to have found this blog though as dieting can be rather a bland and boring time for people who love food and flavours as much as I do and this blog provides some delicious recipes that certainly don’t make you feel deprived in the slightest!

3 responses to “Follow Friday

  1. I absolutely LOVE Arancini and my fave little local restaurant, that does the most amazing Arancini, has just shut down. So Thankyou for sharing this recipe. Now I can attempt my own! Xx

    • Hopefully the recipe will be just as nice, I’m sure they’re usually fried though so if you aren’t terrified of what the scales will say next like I am I’m sure they’d be lovely fried too or with a few more calorific additions made to the recipe!

      • Mmmm yes they are usually deep fried but I don’t have a deep fat fryer. I’m not dieting but I do like to keep the families saturated fat levels down. I’ve had them before with Spinach and Mozzerella and also tomato and mozzerella. Both truly delish!

Leave a Reply

